Skip to main content

West Suburban Choral Union.



  • Existence: 1983 - 2006

Biographical Statement

The West Suburban Choral Union was a premier symphonic chorus in DuPage County that specialized in the performance of great choral masterworks. This large chorus was composed of 115 to 130 members that performed accompanied by a symphonic orchestra. It operated under the auspices of the Wheaton Conservatory of Music at Wheaton College and was run by a Board of Directors and sought council from an Honorary Board of Advisors. The operating budget was raised principally through membership fees, ticket sales, and corporate and private gifts. In 1983 Dr. Paul W. Wiens (Professor of Choral Music and Conducting at the Wheaton Conservatory of Music) began directing the West Suburban Choral Union. All works were performed in their entirety, in their original languages and with full orchestra. Repertoire from previous seasons included Verdi’s Requiem, Mendelssohn’s Elijah, Haydn’s Creation, Mozart's C Minor Mass and Requiem, Handel’s Messiah, Bach’s Christmas Oratorio, Beethoven’s Mass in C Major, Ralph Vaughan Williams’ Dona nobis pacem and A Sea Symphony, Schubert’s Mass in No. 5 in A-flat Major, Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, Barber’s Prayers of Kirkegaard, Walton’s Coronation Te Deum, Brahms' Ein deutsches Requiem, Bach’s Passion According to St. John and St. Matthew’s Passion. Under the leadership of Artistic Director and Conductor, Paul Wiens, the chorus collaborated with the Wheaton College Symphony Orchestra, Wheaton College Concert Choir, Women's Chorale and Men's Glee Club and allowed the Choral Union to contribute to the artistic life of the Conservatory of Music, Wheaton College and the larger suburban community. The West Suburban Choral Union presented masterworks at Wheaton College from 1983-2006.


Vertical File (West Suburban Choral Union); Wiens at Wheaton />

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

West Suburban Choral Union Records

Identifier: SC-126
Scope and Contents

The West Suburban Choral Union Papers are primarily composed of audio material from 1998-2005 of WSCU concert performances, including Mozart's Mass in C Minor, Handel's Messiah, Bach's St. Matthew's Passion, and Britten's War Requiem. Additional manuscript material from the group's secretary are also available from 1985-1990.

Dates: Created: 1985-2005; Other: Date acquired: 2002